APC Mini Convention: Chief Oyegun Inaugurates 18-Man-Committee


October 24, 2014.


By: Ibrahim Olalekan

Ahead of the All Progressives Congress (APC) mini convention scheduled to hold in Abuja on Oct 29, Chief John Oyegun, National Chairman of the APC, on Thursday inaugurated an 18-man-committee at the party headquarters in Abuja.

Oyegun urged members of the committee to work hand-in-hand so as to achieve the mandate of ensuring a hitch-free convention.

Chairman of the committee, Gov. Abdulaziz Abubakar of Zamfara, who responded on behalf of the committee, assured that the expectation of the party on the convention would be achieved.

He said: ‘‘The mandate given to me as far as the committee is concerned is to ensure that we have a successful convention. This convention is to ratify some sections of our constitution.

‘‘As party men and women, we are ready to work round the clock to ensure that this convention is successful.”

Former Bayelsa State Governor, Chief Timi Silva, is to serve as secretary of the committee while the party’s National Vice Chairmen in the six geopolitical zones of the country are members of the committee.

Others are former Governor of Gombe State, Danjuma Goje; Sen. Robert Boroface, Aisha Ibrahim, Alhaji Bala Borodo, Temi Harriman, Dr Anyim Nyerere and Alhaji Lai Mohammed, the party’s National Publicity Secretary.

Sen. Osita Izunaso, APC’s National Publicity Secretary; Alhaji Mai Buni, the National Secretary and Dikko Radda, the Welfare Secretary are also members.

About 2,000 delegates, three from each of the 774 local government areas of the country are expected to participate in the mini convention, which will be observed by Independent National Electoral Commission.