Breaking: Obanikoro, Maku, Wike, Others Resign As Ministers

October 15, 2014.


By: Ibrahim Olalekan

Following the directive given by President Goodluck Jonathan that Minister seeking elective positions should resign latest October 20, seven ministers in the President’s cabinet have resigned their positions.

Reports available on Premium Times, an online news platform says those who resigned are Ministers of Information, Labaran Maku; Trade and Industry, Samuel Ortom; State for Education, Nyesom Wike; and State for Defence, Musiliu Obanikoro.

Others are Ministers of Labour, Emeka Wogu; Health, Onyebuchi Chukwu; State for Niger Delta, Dairus Ishaku.

The former ministers are expected to return to their respective states and contest the gubernatorial elections under the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party.