Democrats push bill to ban Trump and others from US Capitol

Lazy eyes listen


A couple of House Democrats are pushing legislation that would prevent former President Donald Trump and other figures from entering the United States Capitol.

The concurrent resolution states that “the Sergeant at Arms of the House of Representatives, the Sergeant at Arms and Doorkeeper of the Senate, and the United States Capitol Police shall take such actions as may be necessary to prevent President Donald John Trump, Steve Bannon, Mark Meadows, Dan Scavino, Peter Navarro, Jeffrey Clark, John Eastman, Kenneth Cheseboro, and Rudy Giuliani from entering the United States Capitol.”

The bill was introduced by Democratic Rep. Nikema Williams of Georgia, and Democratic Rep. Eric Swalwell of California is an original cosponsor.

Williams stated on Twitter, “@RepSwalwell co-sponsored my bill, but I agree with his analogy: let’s keep the arsonists out of the Capitol, y’all.

Following the Jan. 6, 2021 Capitol riot, Williams introduced a similar concurrent resolution that called for Trump to be barred from entering the Capitol after his term expired.
Trump, who has announced his intention to run for president again, called Swalwell a “idiot.”

“This idiot is now calling (for publicity only!) for some Great American Patriots, including myself, to be barred from the Capitol,” Trump said in a statement. “Fortunately, people recognize Swalwell as a ‘low life,’ unrespected by anyone, and merely used for entertainment purposes by the Fake News Media to justify their existence.