Lagos West: Adeola Aka Yayi Makes History Winning Senate Seat

Hon Solomon Adeola, Yayi

With the results of the Presidential and National Assembly elections announced by INEC this evening at 8.53pm, Hon Solomon Olamilekan Adeola aka Yayi of the APC made history by becoming the first legislator in Nigeria to be consecutively elected from the state legislature to the Lower House of the National Assembly and finally to the Senate.

In the announced results declaring Hon. Adeola as winner of the Lagos West Senatorial District, APC scored a total of 429,765 votes to his beat his rival Mr. Segun Adewale of PDP who scored 372,421 in the largest senatorial district in Nigeria.

Hon. Adeola won in 6 of the 10 LGAs of the district namely Alimosho, Agege, Ifako Ijaiye, Mushin, Badagry and Ikeja to beat his rival with 57,344 votes. He lost in Ojo, Amuwo Odofin, Oshodi /Isolo and Ajeromi /Ifelodun LGAs.

Amidst wild jubilations among his supporters that kept vigil in his office since Saturday evening, Hon. Adeola, the chairman of the House of Representatives Committee on Public Accounts, dedicates his victory to God and all the good people of his Alimosho Federal constituency that he presently represent in House of Representatives and the entire people of Lagos West District adding he will vigorously pursue his legislative agenda as promised during the campaign for the seat.

Hon. Adeola, a chartered accountant by profession was consecutively elected to the Lagos State House of Assembly in 2003 and in 2007 to represent Alimosho State Constituency 2. In 2011, he was elected and is presently representing Alimosho Federal Constituency, the largest constituency in Nigeria in the House of Representatives.


Chief Kayode Odunaro

Media Adviser to Hon. Solomon Adeola

30th March, 2015.