IYC: Gov. Dickson, Pa Clark Broker Peace In Leadership Crisis

…inaugurates the Pereotubo-led IYC

The leadership crisis rocking the Ijaw Youth Council (IYC) has finally been laid to rest with the inauguration of the  Barr. Owelaemi Roland Pereotubo led executives.

Their inauguration came after due and intense deliberations by very eminent persons, elders and leaders of the Ijaw nation, arising from the report submitted by the Joshua Fumudor-led Eminent Persons  Peace and Reconciliation Committee which was recently set up by Bayelsa State Governor, Honourable Henry Seriake Dickson.

They were administered the oath of office by Barr. Selekowei Larry (SAN) in the presence of Governor Dickson, Pa Clark and other eminent persons and leaders in Ijaw land at the Asokoro residence‎ of the Ijaw leader.

Dickson charged the newly inaugurated IYC leadership to work for the collective interest of the Ijaw nation, while urging them to close ranks with the others.

He said based on the report submitted, the Peretubo-led IYC executives who were elected at the unity convention in Okrika are recognized as the authentic IYC new leadership because the Okrika election complied substantially to the electoral principles of the council.

‎The governor reiterated that the IYC and INC are not platforms to advance selfish political interests or to be used to look for contracts, stressing that there are major challenges confronting the Ijaw nation and the youths must rise up to that challenge.

In his acceptance speech, the new IYC President, Barr. Owelaemi Roland Pereotubo, applauded the effort of Governor Dickson in resolving the protracted crisis and particularly commended him for providing uncommon leadership as well as leading the way and showing the light as a true Ijaw leader.

He said he ceases to be a politician henceforth, so that he can give himself wholly to the Ijaw cause and promised to stand by the Kaiama declaration just as he also vowed to work in harmony with all his Exco members to project the Ijaw cause‎.

Earlier in his remarks, Pa Clark called for unity amongst the youths and urge them to unite in order to pursue and achieve a common cause.

The new IYC executives are; Barr. Oweilaemi Roland Pereotubo, President, Telema Pollyn, Deputy President, Alfred Kemepado, Secretary-General, Anthony Oki, Assistant Secretary-General and Daniel Dasimaka, Spokesman.

Others are; Ramson Erebor, Financial Secretary, Egila Luckyman, Treasurer, Fred Afoegba, Mobilization Officer, Adam Ogomugo, Assistant Mobilization Officer, Bokiri Gift, Woman leader and Barr. Igbeta Ayebakuro, Legal Adviser.

Some of the notable Ijaw leaders present were; Justice Francis Tabai, Ambassador Godknows Igali, Bodrick Bozimo, Chief Francis Doupkola, Chief T.K Okorotie, Dr. Felix Tuodolo and other prominent Ijaw leaders.