Buhari To Appoint New Service Chiefs, NSA, DG SSS

President, Service Chiefs

by John Ajibola

Barring all unforeseen circumstances, all the service chiefs, the director general, State Security Services (SSS) and the national security adviser (NSA) are going with President Goodluck Jonathan, LEADERSHIP can now authoritatively report.

The service chiefs are Air Chief Marshal Alex Badeh, the chief of defence staff (CDS), Lt General Kenneth Tobiah Jacob Minimah, the chief of army staff, Vice Admiral Usman O. Jibrin, the chief of naval staff (CNS) and Air Marshal Adesola Nunayon Amosu, chief of air staff.

These top military chiefs were appointed by the outgoing President Goodluck Jonathan, when on 16th January, 2014, a statement issued and signed by his media adviser, Dr Reuben Abati announced their appointments in replacement of the then chief of defence staff, Admiral Ola Sa’ad Ibrahim; chief of army staff, Lt. Gen. Azuibuike Ihejirika; and chief of naval staff (CNS), Vice Admiral Joseph Ezeoba.

Speaking with LEADERSHIP last week, an informed security observer explained that it was the usual practice that service chiefs departed from the scene once the tenure of their principal expired in order to allow the new helmsman to begin on a fresh note.

“It is the norm; service chiefs always depart from the scene with the man who hired them in order to allow the new leader to bring in those who are loyal to him. Remember, when former President Olusegun Obasanjo came in, he sacked those who worked for General Abdusalami Abubakar and brought his own into the offices.

Read full on Leadership